Trip to Ohio

Tonight we’re going to visit my wife’s family in Ohio. Her father is from New Philadelphia, OH, southeast of Akron/Canton, which is where we’re flying into tonight. I’ve never been to Ohio, so I’m looking forward to the experience. We’ll be staying in the town next to New Philadelphia, called Dundee, with my father-in-law’s brother and we’ll be taking a lot of daytrips. My wife is excited to take me into Amish Country and show me some of the local sights. And being the geek that I am, I can’t wait. I’ll be taking photographs along the way to chronicle our visit and I know we’ll be stopping by some cemeteries to record some of my wife’s ancestors.

Some of the family names I’ll be searching for in Ohio are Evans, Jenkins, Kelly, and Gustafson.

Here’s a map of where we’re heading. I’ll report back next week with some updates on my findings.

Leave a Reply

