Why

In every conceivable manner, the family is a link to our past, bridge to our future.” – Alex Haley

For years, I’d been interested in my family’s history. Trying to listen to as many stories as possible to put together some sort of understanding of where my family came from. It didn’t take long to realize that no one really knew much. My mother didn’t know last names of grandparents or where they were born. My father only remembered snippets of his grandparents and aunts and uncles from when he was growing up. Then a year and a half ago, my daughter Ava was born. And though she may never care to know about her family’s history, I made it my mission to piece together as much history, factual or otherwise, as I could. She will never get the chance to meet her grandmother or many of her great grandparents, but that doesn’t mean she should know about them. She should have every opportunity to hear stories about them, so their story continues on.

This will be her story, a story of all of us.

Leave a Reply

